2022 International Hydrology Prize medallists


IAHS are pleased to announce the award of the International Hydrology Prize for 2022 to:

Dooge medal – María José Polo Gómez, Spain

Volker medal – Francis Chiew, Australia

Nominations for the annual Prize are made by National Committees to IAHS, National Committees to the UNESCO-IHP or National Hydrological Advisors to the WMO and forwarded to the Secretary General of IAHS for consideration by the Nomination Committee. The Committee consists of the President and a Vice-President of IAHS and representatives of UNESCO and WMO.

As of 2014, two medals are awarded under the International Hydrology Prize: the Dooge medal and the Volker medal. Both medals are intended to distinguish outstanding achievements by hydrological scientists but with a different focus. The Dooge medal is aimed at fundamental contributions to the science of hydrology, whereas the Volker medal is aimed at outstanding applications of hydrological science for the benefit of society at large.


Our warmest congratulations go to both recipients.

The International Hydrology Prize medals for 2020, 2021 and 2022 will be awarded during IAHS 2022 Scientific Assembly in Montpellier, France alongside celebrations of the 100th anniversary of IAHS.