Doctoral programmes

Dynamics of flows biogeochemical Interuniversity doctoral programme and its applications

The program is taught jointly by the universities of Granada (Coordinator), Cordoba and Malaga. Convention UGR-UCO-UMA

The lines of research proposed by the three participating universities teams focus on the study of biogeochemical of coating flows planetary boundary, rivers, dams, transitional waters and Oceanic and the integral management of resources related to these flows.

All approach is of specialized manner, but from a multidisciplinary perspective, analyzing and taking into account:

  1. The environmental implications in aspects as the quality of water, population dynamics, or erosion processes.
  2. The implications of socio‐economicas in subjects concerning safety, reliability and operational capacity of the infrastructure needed for its management.
  3. The randomness that the biogeochemical processes inherit from agents Forcers, i.e. bounded uncertainty and analyzing risk.
  4. The evidence of climate variability

Doctoral programme in physics and space sciences

The main objective that the students who decide to pursue these postgraduate studies are satisfied that assume their main aspiration: acquire knowledge and skills of the highest academic level in any field of physics.

The set of proposed research is sufficiently large to ensure that the student will find a field that is closest to their interests, their vocation or academic and occupational aspirations. You can effectively carry out research activities and finally obtained his doctor’s degree in areas ranging from stellar, Galactic and planetary Astrophysics to nanostructures used as sensors or memory elements. You can find lines that are usually included as part of classical physics (optics or mechanics of fluids) and others related to particle physics, or Nuclear Physics.



The training capability of the IISTA is also evidenced by the number of Doctoral Thesis supervised during 2016-2020. Here follows some of the new doctors formed at IISTA.

  • María del Pilar Plaza García, 2017.
  • Rafael J. Bergillos Meca, 2017.
  • Clara Arbizu Barrena, 2017.
  • Alfonso J. Jiménez Robles, 2017.
  • Inmaculada Cancio Guillén, 2017.
  • Pedro Folgueras Rodríguez, 2017.
  • Encarnación Medina López, 2018 (International Doctorate).
  • Gregori Arruda Moreira 2018 (International Doctorate, cotutela USP Brasil).
  • Matilde García-Valdecasas Ojeda, 2018 ( International Doctorate, Thesis Award).
  • José Antonio Benavent Oltra 2019 (International Doctorate).
  • Andrés Bedoya 2019 (cotutela Universidad Nacional de Colombia)
  • Pablo Ortiz Amezcua 2019 (International Doctorate).
  • Francisco Javier Rodríguez Benítez, 2019 (International Doctorate).
  • Jesús Cebrino Cruz, 2019.
  • María José Pérez Palazón, 2019.
  • Moisés Martínez Bracero, 2019.
  • Pilar Díaz Carrasco, 2019.
  • Andrea Lira Loarca, 2019 (International Doctorate, cotutela Universitá di Parma).
  • Manuel Lorite Diez, 2019 (International Doctorate).
  • Javier Ruiz Rus, 2019 (International Doctorate).
  • Ana González Robles, 2019 (International Doctorate).
  • Fabio Adonna, 2019 (International Doctorate, cotutela Università degli Studi di Parma).
  • Sandra Paola Viaña, 2020.
  • Manuel Cobos Budía, 2020.
  • Juan del Rosal Salido, 2020.
  • Luisa Martínez Martínez, 2020 (International Doctorate).
  • Pedro Jesús Gómez Giráldez, (International Doctorate).
  • Ana Mellado García, (International Doctorate).
  • Dra Alba Lázaro Gonzalez, (International Doctorate).
  • Joaquín Duque-Lazo (International Doctorate).
  • Verónica Loewe Muñoz (INFOR-Chile, IUFRO International Doctoral Thesis Award).
  • Francisco Ruiz Gómez (International Doctorate, National Prize for Doctoral Thesis Spanish Society of Forest Sciences).